Choices.

Please fill in the needed answers…

I’m trying. I don’t know why its so hard.

Question: I entered BS Psychology because ________.

I know that the first Law of Thermodynamics states that energy can neither be created nor destroyed. I know that the Trojan War began from the marriage of Peleus and Thetis. I know that basically the four phases of mitosis are prophase, metaphase, anaphase and telophase. I know that language shapes culture because when a language dies the culture dies with it.

I’ve been cramming so many information in my head to be able to answer the questions in my quizzes.

But to answer that question, I just don’t know how.

I thought majoring in Psychology would be easy. I thought words and logic would get me my diploma in a blink of an eye. I thought long nights with some coffee was all that it takes to ace every exam. 

I was wrong. 

It takes more than just knowledge. Memorizing bookish definitions and cramming all those scientific terms were just not enough. Because knowledge is useless without application and attitude. 

A cup of milk tea could probably get me through the day without falling asleep in class. But that doesn’t mean I get closer to my dreams by just merely surviving everyday college life. 

They say make your passion your profession. But I think some dreams are just too many lightyears out of reach. I can want as much as I can. I can keep wasting my coins on wishing wells whispering to the winds “Make me a doctor.” I can keep kneeling and praying until the skin on my knees turn purple. I can go on and waste all my birthday wishes on this wild ambition that I may one day be a doctor.

But then I realized, our choices in life define who we are. Our choices make us. Our choices are part of us. Yet sometimes, choices are our enemies.

typing….

I entered this program…

                                        because I don’t know where else to go.

Leave a Reply

