Is it so wrong to be clueless?

Image

I am not really a huge twilight fan but Jessica’s graduation speech really fits my situation right now. So here it goes….

“Great adventures come from unplanned days.”

But does great adventure equate to a better future?

Let me start with a story from back in the days when my innocence could get me any sweets I want. When I was 4, I wanted to be a rockstar! I wanted to be like Avril Lavigne, stage diving and singing in front of a huge crowd. Of course that dream never lasted.

When I was in kindergarten, they asked us to write our dream job in a balloon so that we could set it free into the sky and God may probably catch each one and make them come true. In  my balloon, I wrote “nurse” because it was so much easier to spell than architect.

Then as time passed by, I didn’t really think of my ambitions. I just wanted to pass every subject and get through every school year with minimal mess ups.

Then high school came. I wanted to be a writer (I still do) but the odds of having a book published was definitely low. But high school gave me a lot of adventures to think about. In high school, I fell in love. In high school, I learned to cheat to survive. In high school, I started writing to delineate myself from the typical societal way of thinking. In high school, I faced many ups and downs- signals that keep me alive.

But one thing high school never though me was how to answer the question “What do you want to be in the future?”

Hmmm…With three months to go before graduation, my answer is: Who the hell knows!

I am clueless. You can judge me and call me unpassionate. But it’s just that I don’t think that these are the times to make hard decisions. These are the times to make mistakes. Because that is how the human mind learns. We make mistakes and try again until we get it right.

I’m young and the world offers a lot of possibilities. I can take each one and probably come out crying for my mama. But one thing I know is that I will never give up. I will always stand and try again.

And maybe that’s my plan. Take paths..fail..and try again.

Dear reader, whoever you are right now, did you always have a clear path? Did you always want to be who you are today?

Lastly, are you happy and proud of what you are today?

If you are, then congratulations 🙂

If you are not…then there is still time to make more mistakes so that when they will ask again what we want to be..we won’t have to guess… we’ll know.

Leave a Reply

